He is Not His Cancer

It’s been two months since I last saw Bob (not his real name).

He is half the size he used to be.

A monster called cancer has been given free reign over his body.

Lungs, bone marrow, brain.

But cancer has not crushed his spirit.

The doctors told Bob he has 6 weeks to live, maybe 6 months if he’s lucky.

Bob says he’ll die when God says it’s time.

Before cancer, Bob lived a simple life in rural Indiana.

Now Bob lives a life filled with treatments and hospitals and blood transfusions.

Bob does not despair because he knows he still has lots of living to do.

More than just living, Bob says he has lots of giving to do.

When I told Bob it was good to see him,

he said, “It’s good to be seen.”

When I see Bob, I see more than a man.

I see more than cancer.

I see humility.

I see courage.

I see strength.

I see sacrifice.

I see love.

I see the smile of God.

Categories: Faith | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

